Report this image

Marshall Thundering Herd

The Marshall Thundering Herd football team is an intercollegiate varsity sports program of Marshall University. The team represents the university as a member of the Conference USA Eastern division of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, playing at the Division I Bowl Subdivision level. Marshall plays at Joan C. Edwards Stadium, which seats 38,227 and is expandable to 55,000. Marshall has an impressive 118-19 overall record at Joan C. Edwards stadium for a winning percentage of .866. The University of Alabama ranks second with an .825 winning percentage at Bryant-Denny Stadium. The stadium opened in 1991 as Marshall University Stadium with a crowd of 33,116 for a 24-23 win over New Hampshire. On September 10, 2010, the Thundering Herd played the in-state rival West Virginia Mountaineers in Huntington in front of a record crowd of 41,382. Edwards Stadium is one of two Division I stadium named solely for a woman, and Mrs. Edwards husband, James F. Edwards, has his name on the actual playing field. South Carolina's Williams-Brice Stadium is the other.

Early History (1895-1934)

Boyd Chambers, the coach who called the "Tower Play".

Marshall first fielded a football team in 1895. The team didn't have a coach that year or from 1897-1901. The first coach in Marshall football history was George Ford from 1902-1903.

Boyd Chambers was Marshall's head football coach from 1909-1916. He is most well-known for calling the "Tower Play" during the 1915 season, leading to a rule change in 1916.

Arch Reilly led the Herd to an undefeated 8-0 record in his only season as Marshall's head coach in 1919.

Charles Tallman would lead the Thundering Herd from 1925-1928, compiling a 22-9-7 record before moving on to coach rival West Virginia. Tallman's Thundering Herd won conference championships in 1925 and 1928.

Tallman was succeeded by John Maulbetsch, who posted an 8-8-2 record in his two years (1929-1930).

Tom Dandelet led the Thundering Herd from 1931-1934, compiling a record of 18-16-2. Dandelet's 1931 team won a conference championship.