Report this image

Kent State Golden Flashes

The Kent State Golden Flashes football team is a varsity intercollegiate athletic team of Kent State University in Kent, Ohio. The team is a member of the Mid-American Conference East division, which is part of the National Collegiate Athletic Association's Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A). The Golden Flashes played their first game in 1920 and since 1969 have played their home games at Dix Stadium. The head coach since December 2012 is Paul Haynes, a Kent State alumnus who played for the Flashes from 1987–91.


The team was founded in 1920 and played their first game against Ashland College, a 6-0 loss under coach Paul Chandler. Kent State would record their first win that year, but it would be in the form of a forfeit. The team would not record their first true victory until November 14, 1925, a 7-6 win over West Liberty State College. Outside the forfeited win in 1920, Kent State would fail to score in their first 14 games, posting a record of 0-13-1 before finally putting points on the board in a 7-6 loss to West Liberty in 1923. During that streak, Kent State would suffer the worst loss in school history, a 118-0 loss to Baldwin-Wallace College, also in 1923. Following the 7-6 loss to West Liberty, a new shutout streak began which lasted 8 games, in which the Flashes, then known as the "Silver Foxes" went 0-6-2. The streak began with the second most lopsided loss in school history, an 82-0 loss to Slippery Rock. The streak finally ended with a 6-6 tie with the Indiana (PA) Normal School in 1925, the game which preceded Kent State's first true victory. Kent State posted their first winning season in 1928, going 4-2-2.