Report this image

Wake Forest Demon Deacons

The Wake Forest Demon Deacons football team represents Wake Forest University in the sport of American football. The Demon Deacons compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Atlantic Division of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). Wake Forest plays its home football games at BB&T Field and is currently coached by Dave Clawson.

Wake Forest struggled in football for much of the second half of the 20th century. This is largely because it is the third-smallest school in FBS in terms of undergraduate enrollment (behind only Rice and Tulsa). It is also by far the smallest school playing in a BCS conference. However, since the start of the 21st century, the Deacons have been mostly competitive.

Early History (1888-1928)

Wake Forest first fielded a football team in 1888, coached by W. C. Dowd and W. C. Riddick. That team played only one game, and went 1-0.

From 1891-1893, under head coach E. Walter Sikes, Wake Forest posted a 6-2-1 record.

Harry Rabenhorst coached Wake Forest for two seasons, posting a 3-8 record.

Hank Garrity served as head football coach from 1923-1924. He compiled a 19-7-1 record in those two seasons. His .7037 winning percentage is the highest in Wake Forest football history.