Report this image

Nevada Wolf Pack

The Nevada Wolf Pack football program represents the University of Nevada, Reno (commonly referred to as "Nevada" in athletics) in college football. The Wolf Pack competes in the Mountain West Conference at the Football Bowl Subdivision level of the NCAA.

The Wolf Pack's home field is Mackay Stadium in Reno, which opened in October 1966 with a seating capacity of 7,500. After several expansions, the stadium currently seats 30,000 but has played to crowds in excess (see Attendance Records at Mackay Stadium). The playing field sits at an elevation of 4610 feet (1405 m) above sea level. Originally natural grass, it was replaced with FieldTurf in 2000, and permanent lighting was added in 2003.

The single-season attendance record was set in 1991 with a total of 180,457 fans over nine home games, including playoffs; and the regular-season attendance record was set at 151,081 fans in 1993. The 1993 and 2013 seasons are the only football seasons to have at least 20,000 fans in attendance at every home game, although multiple seasons are close. In addition, 2013 holds the single-season attendance record for a Wolf Pack team with a losing record (at 149,635 fans).

I-AA history

The Wolf Pack competed in Division I-AA since the formation of that division in 1978, moving up from Division II. Before joining the Big Sky Conference in 1979, Nevada competed in the Far West Conference, and as a Division II independent in football.

Nevada competed in the Division I-AA playoffs in its first two seasons, when just four teams were selected. They returned to the national semi-finals in 1983 and 1985, when the playoffs included 12 teams, and 1986 with a 16 team field. The Wolf Pack reached the national championship game in 1990, and the quarterfinals in 1991.

In its 14 years in Division I-AA, Nevada made the playoffs seven times, and went undefeated during the regular season three times (1978, 1986, 1991), compiling an overall record of 122-47-1 (.720). Nevada would record a record of 9-7 in the Division I-AA playoffs during their time in the Big Sky Conference. In 13 years of Big Sky membership, the Wolf Pack won four conference titles (1983, 1986, 1990, 1991).