Report this image

Kentucky Wildcats

The Kentucky Wildcats football team represents the University of Kentucky in the sport of American football. The Wildcats compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA) and the Eastern Division of the Southeastern Conference (SEC). The team is currently coached by Mark Stoops.

Early History (1892-1945)

Kentucky first fielded a football team in 1892. The team was coached by A. M. Miller and went 2-4-1.

Head coach Jack Wright led the team to a 7-1 record in 1903.

Fred Schacht posted a 15-4-1 record in two seasons but passed away unexpectedly after his second season. J. White Guyn also had success leading the Wildcats, posting a 17-7-1 record in his three years.

Edwin Sweetland went 16-3 in three seasons (1909-1910 and 1912) but resigned due to poor health. Sweetland also served as Kentucky's first athletics director.

Coach Harry Gamage had a 32-25-5 record during his seven seasons from 1927-1933. A.D. Kirwan, who would go on to be the president of the university, coached the Wildcats from 1938-1944 and posted a 24-28-4 record in those six seasons.

Longtime athletics director Bernie Shively also served as Kentucky's head football coach for the 1945 season.