Report this image

Boise State Broncos

The Boise State Broncos football program represents Boise State University in college football and compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of Division I as a member of the Mountain West Conference. The team is currently coached by Bryan Harsin. The Broncos play their home games at Bronco Stadium.


Originally a junior college, Boise State's football program moved up to four-year status in 1968 and competed as an NAIA independent for two seasons. The Broncos were accepted into the NCAA in October 1969, and a month later into the Big Sky Conference, effective the following July. The Broncos began NCAA competition in 1970 in Division II ("College Division" prior to 1973) in a brand new Bronco Stadium. In 1978, the Broncos and the Big Sky moved up to the new Division I-AA (renamed FCS in 2006) and BSU won its first national championship two years later. After 26 years in the Big Sky, the Broncos joined the Big West Conference in 1996 and moved up to Division I-A (now FBS).

In three seasons under head coach Dirk Koetter, the Broncos won two Big West championships and moved to the WAC in 2001, when Dan Hawkins took over and guided the Broncos to four WAC titles in five seasons before handing the reins over to Chris Petersen. Under Petersen, Boise State has recorded two undefeated seasons, three undefeated regular seasons, and reached the Bowl Championship Series twice. The 2006 season was capped with a win over the Oklahoma Sooners in the 2007 Fiesta Bowl, while the 2009 team defeated Texas Christian in the 2010 Fiesta Bowl to finish the season 14–0. They were just the second team ever to go 14–0 in the history of major college football. The 2010 team achieved their highest preseason ranking in history as the Associated Press ranked the Broncos as the 3rd best team in the country. That same off-season, Boise State accepted an invitation to join the Mountain West Conference starting in 2011. Later in the 2010 season, Boise State achieved the highest rankings in its history, being voted in at #2 in both the AP Poll and the Coaches' Poll, as well as earning the #3 slot in the first BCS ranking.

Shortly after the 2010 season, the NCAA found Boise State guilty of a large number of athletic violations. The NCAA found Boise State guilty of "lack of institutional control," the highest category of malfeasance under the NCAA violation system at the time. The Boise State football program was given three years probation, lost three scholarships a year, and had its number of Fall practices reduced.

Between 2008 and 2011, the Broncos went 50–3 to become the first FBS team to win 50 games over a four year span. With the 50–3 record, quarterback Kellen Moore became the winningest quarterback in FBS history, passing former Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (45 wins).

On December 7, 2011, it was announced that the Broncos would join the Big East Conference as football only members as of July 1, 2013 and would be sharing a division with Memphis, SMU, Houston, San Diego State, and Temple. However, on December 31, 2012, Boise State announced they had decided to stay in the Mountain West conference, leaving the Big East, much like TCU, without ever playing a game in the conference.

On December 6, 2013, it was announced that coach Chris Petersen would be leaving to fill the head coaching vacancy at the University of Washington that was created when the Huskies' Steve Sarkisian left to coach the USC Trojans. Assistant head coach Bob Gregory was named interim head coach.

On December 11, 2013 it was announced that Bryan Harsin would return to his alma mater from Arkansas State as Petersen's replacement. Harsin also served as an assistant for the Broncos under Petersen.